Abu Dhabi (UAE) – Abu Dhabi served up ideal racing weather and 50,000 spectators across the weekend for the high-speed, low-altitude sport, and Goulian took full advantage of the perfect conditions. Known for having great promise but often failing to convert early-race speed into a podium, this time the Massachusetts native was icy cool. Going first in the Final 4, he delivered one of the best times of the day – 53.695 – to Šonka’s 54.650 and a 54.768 from fellow American Kirby Chambliss. It was all down to Muroya, and while the Japanese ace flew cleanly, his 53.985 gave Goulian his first win since Budapest 2009, and the second of his career. 

Some of the favorites for 2018 will have to scramble back fast if they want to build momentum for the title, like Germany’s 2016 World Champion Matthias Doldererand 2017’s third-place finisher Pete McLeod of Canada, who finished at the bottom after getting “Did Not Finish” penalties for exceeding maximum G. Then again, Muroya went from 13th at last year’s season opener to taking the World Champion title. Given their strong starts, Muroya and Šonka appear to be the pilots to beat, but with seven races to go, take nothing for granted, especially with two-time titleholder Chambliss looking good and Goulian in career-best form.

It was awesome. It’s been a long time coming to get to the second win and my whole team is over the moon,” said Goulian, who most recently was on the podium as part of a North American sweep at the Red Bull Air Race in Kazan, Russia last season. “Now we need consistency. There are 13 other great pilots in the Red Bull Air Race, and I feel nothing but excitement for the rest of the year.

Another unexpected high point came from Great Britain’s Ben Murphy, the only newcomer to the World Championship this season, who advanced to the Round of 8 in his very first race, an exceptional result. Up against Spanish pilot Juan Velarde in the Round of 14, Murphy aimed to lay down a clean run to put pressure on a team who have been at the top of the table throughout training. Instead, Murphy incurred a 2 second penalty for an Over G, thinking it was all over with Velarde up next.

Neck and neck in raw time, Velarde also suffered a 2 second penalty, with Murphy finishing in front by just 0.638 seconds. Pitted against the current World Champion, Yoshi Muroya, it was a tough ask for Murphy to progress through to the Round of 4. A clean run ensured a solid time (54.860), putting the pressure on the Japanese pilot up next. With plenty of race experience and a more refined race plane, Yoshi flew a smooth 53.981. Murphy’s run in Abu Dhabi was over, but the team were ecstatic to finish in 6th place overall. A tremendous start for a new team. After the race, Run Murphy said; “What a great week, and what a great result. I’m really proud of how the team has come together at the first race – we’ve shown that we are competitive from the off. We can’t wait to get to Cannes and continue our campaign!

From the Corniche to the Croisette! Next up for the world’s best pilots: the long-awaited debut of the Red Bull Air Race in France, when the raceplanes fly above the Côte d’Azur at Cannes on 21-22 April 2018.

Be there: Tickets for the 2018 Red Bull Air Race World Championship are on sale now. For more information on tickets and all the latest, visit www.redbullairrace.com

Results Master Class Abu Dhabi 2018:  1. Michael Goulian (USA), 2. Yoshihide Muroya (JPN), 3. Martin Šonka (CZE), 4. Kirby Chambliss (USA), 5. Matt Hall (AUS), 6. Ben Murphy (GBR), 7. François Le Vot (FRA), 8. Mika Brageot (FRA), 9. Petr Kopfstein(CZE), 10. Nicolas Ivanoff (FRA), 11. Juan Velarde (ESP), 12. Cristian Bolton (CHI), 13. Matthias Dolderer (GER), 14. Pete McLeod (CAN)

World Championship standings after one race: 1. Michael Goulian (USA) 15 points, 2. Yoshihide Muroya (JPN) 12 pts, 3. Martin Šonka (CZE) 9 pts, 4. Kirby Chambliss(USA) 7 pts, 5. Matt Hall (AUS) 6 pts, 6. Ben Murphy (GBR) 5 pts, 7. François Le Vot (FRA) 4 pts, 8. Mika Brageot (FRA) 3 pts, 9. Petr Kopfstein (CZE) 2 pts, 10. Nicolas Ivanoff (FRA) 1 pt, 11. Juan Velarde (ESP) 0, 12. Cristian Bolton (CHI) 0, 13. Matthias Dolderer (GER) 0, 14. Pete McLeod (CAN) 0